Worse than Unrequited

It’s been a while since I’ve posted here. Things were going well. They will again. But now I just have to get over a broken heart.

There’s a guy that I love. Truly. Deeply. In a way that I have never, ever even thought I was capable. He says he loves me too. He told me he wanted to be with me. He told me that I completed him. He told me that if we lived in the same city, that we would be together.

Turns out not to be the case. He says he doesn’t want to hurt me. He says that he can’t give 100%. He says he still loves me, but we should just be friends. That hurts me MORE than unrequited love. I wish he would just tell me that he doesn’t love me. I wish he would tell me that he just said ask those things to me because he didn’t think there was ever a real possibility we would live in the same city. I wish he would just cut the cord. Sever us completely.

Because I can’t be just his friend. I can’t see him and not think of all the things I want that he is unable and unwilling to give. I can’t put myself through that. It would be torture.

So I think I’m losing a friend. And he’s taking a pretty big piece of my heart with him.

Maybe one day that piece will grow back.

So begins day one of starting over again, again.

Leave a comment