Chicago, Almost 2 Weeks In…

So I’ve been in Chicago almost 2 weeks, and am much happier here. It’s had it’s ups and downs, but I’m falling in love with Chicago, and the new job is much better.

I think I may lose a friend tonight, but it happens. I wanted him to be more than a friend, and some promises were made and broken on his end in that regard. I hope to keep him as friend, but my intuition is telling me that I may never see him again after tonight, when I swing by his place to pick up a couple of boxes I had mailed to his house while moving.

It’s always sad to lose someone, even as just a friend. I hope it doesn’t happen that way. He’s been a good friend to me, and has helped me a lot in the last 6 months to get through a huge transition in my life. I’ll always appreciate that no matter what happens tonight. I told him yesterday that I needed to put him in the right place in my head and heart. He promised me we’d stay friends. But he’s not kept up his end with other things he’s said to me. I want to count on him to continue to be there for me as a friend, but I’m not getting my hopes up.

Sometimes people come back into your life at the right when you need them most, and then leave again when you don’t need them so much anymore. I guess I’ll find out tonight if he’s going to be one of those people.

The good news is that I feel like I may have left the worst of the depression in Hawaii. I feel much more emotionally stable here. I still have moments of sadness, but I’m no longer crying randomly. I think it’ll continue to get better as I make more friends here and begin to establish a future here. My future is looking bright.  🙂

One thought on “Chicago, Almost 2 Weeks In…

Leave a comment